Wed 12 Aug 2020

AIM Independent Music Awards 2020

(Little Simz: Getty images)

The AIM Independent Music Awards will host their virtual cermony tonight (August 12th), featuring performances from Little Simz, AJ Tracey, Arlo Parks, Damon Albarn and more. 

“The AIM Indpendent Music Awards 2020 marks the 21st year of the Association of Indpendent Music (AIM) and champions industry-leading creativity, innovation, and performace shown by independent artists, labels and outstanding individuals.”

Acts nominated for awards this year include Polish pianist Hania Rani, London singer Greentea Peng, Flying Lotus, Floating Points, Fontaines DC, Idles, Laura Marling, FKA Twigs and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds.

Little Simz has been named as winner of the prestigious Pioneer Award, and is the youngest ever recipient of the prize. Simz said: “Delighted to receive the Pioneer Award this year and excited to perform. Big thank you and love to AIM Awards!”

AJ Tracey is also this year’s recipient of the Innovator prize (in association with Amazon Music). The UK rapper, who operates his own label with management company Supernature, has racked up more than a billion streams globally.

You can stream the ceremony from 7pm, hosted by BBC Radio 1Xtra’s Tiffany Calver,  via the awards website and SBTV’s YouTube channel.

AIM has also rolled out an app for this year’s online awards which you can download here.